Wk9 – Artist Conversation – Vanessa Olivarez

Being Vanessa Olivarez a film by Spike Jonze

Exhibition Information

Artist: Vanessa Olivarez

Exhibition: Tender

Media: Multiple

Gallery: CSULB School of Art, Werby Gallery

About the Artist

This is Vanessa’s senior year in CSULB Sculpture. She has presented a similar exhibit last semester here at the student galleries. She finds inspiration in the moment, or from clips she watches from old films.

Formal Analysis

The pure impressiveness of this exhibit was impeccable. Her holographic projections were inspiring. I did not quite know projections could be used in such a creative way. The music she had created set the mood even further. She recorded this with a child’s piano through a computer. All elements flowed well and gave me a complete sense of unity and inspiration. I enjoyed the experience.

Content Analysis

With the choice of the word “tender” as a title for her exhibit, Vanessa set a tone that was  supported by the art she has created. She talked of this duality to this word, how it can mean both tough and soft. This feeling translated well to what she has created. She said she was more focused on creating a mood, and a mood she did create. She made me feel like I was inside a new world. I was exploring her mind. I was John Cusack stepping inside the mind of John Malkovich. I was understanding her consciousness. I knew what it was to be Vanessa Olivarez.

Synthesis/My Experience

I was in complete awe the moment I stepped into this exhibit. I pulled the curtain and was shocked by the sheer coolness of what my eyes and ears were beholding. After exiting I was asked by a fellow student how I felt, and it was rather hard to put my feelings into words. I went back inside the exhibit later and just sat at the console with the provided headphones and just experienced this exhibit. I finally put my feelings into words. This exhibit made me feel calmly on edge. Their was this benign creepiness, not at all of the magnitude that some students were describing. It was not at all scary, but somehow comforting. I cold have sat in that exhibit for hours, just soaking the pure immersive feelings in.

 

Leave a Reply

